Date:  Thursday, December 12th, 2019
Time:  7:30 pm
Place:  Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, BC Campus, 515 West Hastings Street (between Seymour and Richards Streets) in the Diamond Alumni Lounge on the second floor
Speaker: Richard Mackie
Topic:  The Ormsby Review and Independent Scholars Platform

Brief Biography:

Richard Somerset Mackie has been editor of the on-line journal The Ormsby Review since September 2016. Before that he taught history and historical geography at UBC, Vancouver Island University, and the University of Victoria. He has a PhD in history and geography from UBC (1993) and has written six books, two of which won the Lieutenant-Governor’s Prize.

Outline:

In this talk I will discuss the history of The Ormsby Review (Ormsby), which Alan Twigg and I formed in September 2016. I had previously been Associate Editor and Book Reviews Editor at the UBC journal, BC Studies; Alan Twigg had been publisher and editor of BC Bookworld (the newspaper) and BC BookLook (the website) for 30 years. Since November 1, 2019, Ormsby has been independent, with its own society, board, and website. Ormsby’s mandate is to review books written by B.C. writers concerning B.C. topics from B.C. publishers, but we also aim to review all major B.C. books from any source. We also publish authoritative essays and memoirs. We are exclusively an electronic publisher. We work with writers, publishers, and literary professionals to promote books published by or about British Columbia in all its diversity. We have also started a platform on our website specifically for the Canadian Academy of Independent Scholars. I will outline Ormsby’s past, present, and future, and will answer questions on aspects of writing and editing at an electronic publisher. The home page of the website is https://ormsbyreview.com/ and I can be reached at richardmackie@shaw.ca.

Last Meeting:

We had three very talented presenters showcasing the life and recording history of Nat King Cole. It was “Unforgettable”. There was a large audience and everyone was caught up by the story and the quality of the entertainment. Paul did the speaking and organizing, Bob played the keyboard and Walter sang. People in the audience shared their recollections of Nat King Cole including those who had seen him in person. All in all, a remarkable event.

For those who are interested, Bob and Walter are performing on Saturday, December 14th. See the flyer advertising this show here.

Additional Information:

Special Note. December 12th is our famous annual XMAS bash. Be there or be square.

A list of upcoming meetings:

February 20, 2020
March 19, 2020
April 16, 2020
May 21, 2020

Any questions, please contact me:
Mark Dwor
604-662-3908
mark@northeastcorner.ca

Categories: